WHAT A TIME TO BE ALIVE

social-media1

Media spaces are defined as, “electronic settings in which groups of people can work together, even when they are not present in the same place and time. In a media space, people can create real-time visual and acoustic environments that span physically seperate areas” (Stults, 1986). I for one, am an avid supporter of media spaces and their social utilities. Applications such as  Facebook, Messenger, Snapchat, and Instagram have evolved society’s ability to connect instantaneously on an online platform. In today’s society, where technology is rapidly evolving, we need to adapt and accept these advances positively. I am regularly present in a media space and I do not believe that this is a negative thing. These platforms allow me to be informed, updated, and connected instantaneously 24/7.

If my degree has taught me one thing so far, it’s that participating in media spaces is the future. Whether it be for personal or business use, these platforms are here to develop our connectivity and knowledge. To think that 20 years ago, job titles such as Social Media Marketer never existed. So when people ask me, “what career path would you like to follow?” I always reply with “I want a job that hasn’t been created yet.” Moral of the story: what a time to be alive.

So yes, some people may view checking your phone constantly as an obsession. However in my opinion, media spaces are pretty damn good… and I will continue to burry my head into my phone applications like a stereotypical teenager.

Reference:

Stults, R. (1986). Media Spaces (Technical report). Xerox PARC. Available from: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~srh/Downloads/Media%20Space%20Report.pdf

Leave a Reply

